2020 NBA Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

2020 NBA Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

2020 NBA Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

2020 NBA Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

Travis February 15, 2020
Spread the love

2020 NBA Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

With the 2020 NBA All-Star Weekend in full affect, the 2020 NBA Hall of Fame finalists were announced. Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett and the late, great Kobe Bryant headlined the class. I’ll be honest with you, it’s surreal to even type Kobe Bryant’s name and seeing he’s no longer with us. 10-time WNBA All-Star and four-time Olympic gold medalist Tamika Catchings was also announced. Previous finalists included again this year for consideration Kim Mulkey, Barbara Stevens, Eddie Sutton and Rudy Tomjanovich. Mulkey is the former coach at Baylor who won three national titles. Barbara Stevens was a five-time Division II Coach of the Year. Eddie Sutton is probably remembered for his time at Oklahoma State and four-time Coach of the Year. Rudy Tomjanovich was the coach of the Houston Rockets when they won back-to-back title in the mid-90s. with Olajuwon.

Kobe Bryant

Kobe Bryant played 20 seasons with the Los Angeles Lakers. Kobe was an 18-time All-Star and five-time NBA champion before retiring. Many have put Kobe in the conversation of GOAT (Greatest of All Time) and deservedly so. When Bryant retired, he was 3rd all-time on the NBA scoring list. The way Kobe played his heart out on the court, he earned the name Black Mamba. Mamba was one of the fiercest competitors on the court. Unfortunately, his life was cut short last month along with his daughter, Gigi and 7 others in a plane crash. Kobe was a 11-time All-NBA First Team selection and 4-time All-Star MVP. In what surprises me, Kobe only won the NBA MVP award once in 2008. The Mamba was also selected to First Team All-Defense a total of 9 times. Last, but not least Kobe won two gold medal in the 2008 and 2012 Olympics.

Tim Duncan

Tim Duncan played 19 seasons with the San Antonio Spurs. Duncan is a 15-time NBA All-Star and an eight-time member of the NBA All-Defensive First Team. He is also a five-time NBA Champion with the San Antonio Spurs, having earned Finals MVP three times. In 2002 and 2003, he was named NBA MVP and in 1998 he won Rookie of the Year. The Big Fundamental was drafted number one by the Spurs and immediately paid dividends for them. The following year Duncan lead the Spurs to their first ever NBA championship. He is ranked in the top 10 for NBA all-time rebounds and blocks leaders. As a college athlete at Wake Forest, Duncan earned ACC Player of the Year and was a unanimous First Team All-American in 1996 and 1997. When you talk about all-great power forwards, Tim Duncan is one of the names mentioned.

Kevin Garnett

Kevin Garnett played 21 seasons in the NBA with the Minnesota Timberwolves, Boston Celtics and Brooklyn Nets. Garnett is a 15-time NBA All-Star and 2008 NBA Champion with the Boston Celtics widely regarded for his passion and intensity on the court. A nine-time NBA All-Defensive First Team selection, he led the league in rebounds for four consecutive seasons and was named Defensive Player of the Year in 2008. While playing for the Minnesota Timberwolves in 2004, Garnett led the league in total points, field goals made and total rebounds while earning NBA MVP. He is ranked ninth in NBA’s all-time leaders for rebounds. Garnett earned the name “The Big Ticket” and he’s one of my all-time favorite players. Garnett was drafted right out of high school and had an incredible career. Just like Duncan, whom he battled a lot over the years he’s viewed as one of the best power forwards.


The Hall of Fame Class of 2020 Announcement will take place on Saturday April 4th at 11:00 AM EST on ESPN from the NCAA Final Four in Atlanta, Georgia. The Class of 2020 will be enshrined during festivities in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, August 28-30, 2020. What do you think about the 2020 NBA Hall of Fame list? How great are the 2020 NBA Hall of Fame finalists? Leave some feedback about the 2020 NBA Hall of Fame finalists below.

One thought on “2020 NBA Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *